20 under 21 collage

Check out this video message from about POP 2021 from SOJOURN's executive director, Rebecca Stapel-Wax, AKA Storm.
<click on the pic to see video>


Please join us in congratulating our
2021 Michael Jay Kinsler Rainmaker Award recipients!!

Presented at the 15th Annual Purim Off Ponce Fundraiser
(March 13, 2021)

Addison Coty
Alexandria Brooks-Alt
Aliza Abusch-Magder
Ariella Lewis
Drew Mindell
Eli Lubell
Eowyn "Wyn" Garfinkle
Ethan Asher
Hannah Laing
Hannah Sokolik
Ian Bouer-Schlitt
Jazz Jennings
Josh Cohen
Layla Aberman
Natanya Norry
Perri Schwartz
Rachel Ziffer
Roën Rosenberg
Shoshana Caldas
Sloan Salinas
Sweet Home USY (youth group)
Toby Zweig



In 2014, the Rainmaker Award was renamed in honor of Michael Jay Kinsler. Michael was an active member of gay and lesbian founded Congregation Bet Haverim. He dedicated his life to ensuring that gay and lesbian Jews had a place to worship where they could find solace and pride. We hope to honor Michael's legacy of inclusion and action for years to come.


Past SOJOURN Rainmaker Award Recipients

  • 2007 – Leslie Levy, Rhoda Margolis, and Barbara Katz
  • 2008 – Leanne Rubenstein
  • 2009 – Gus Kaufman
  • 2010 – Rabbi Joshua Lesser
  • 2011 – Charlie Chasen and Beverly Korfin
  • 2012 – Owen Halpern
  • 2013 – Sylvia Gross
  • 2014 – Rabbi Loren Filson Lapidus and Rabbi Bradley Levenberg
  • 2015 – Dan Bloom & Barry Golivesky
  • 2016 – Jeff Graham
  • 2017 – Rabbi Pamela Gottfried & Rabbi Michael Bernstein
  • 2018 – Judy Marx & Billy Planer
  • 2019 – Bex Taylor-Klaus
  • 2020 – Atlanta Jewish Film Festival & Kenny Blank